“Little Girl Mended” by Niki Krauss

Little Girl Mended COVER

“Little Girl Mended” 

by Niki Krauss

Vox Dei Publishing,

January 5, 2016. 


12274622_1653957264842459_8678584934858968757_n.png

Niki Krauss has survived abuse. This is her unique story of redemption. It spans over fifty years, from the loss of innocence at age seven, through over a decade of abuse, forty-five years of silence, and then into her fifties. Niki finally understood that healing is possible. Her journey of recovery coincided with a deeper relationship with Jesus Christ, through which she tasted the Father’s love as never before!

12227683_1651922825045903_3243384579400515293_n

In this book, Niki examines painful memories and difficult emotions, allowing herself to feel for the first time in her life. As she grapple with shattering hurt and long-buried pain, she realizes there is no healing without surrender. It’s not in her strength that she finds healing, but in her complete surrender to Jesus Christ.

This power is available for you, too—whatever the circumstances of your own life’s story.

Come and claim it.


 

About Niki Krauss

 

Niki Krauss

Niki Krauss is a Yankee by birth, a Southerner by choice, and a joy-filled lover of Jesus by grace. As the wife of a Marine Corps aviator, she and her husband of forty years have settled in Charleston, South Carolina.

Niki is the former assistant editor for the Marine Corps Gazette, the professional journal of the United States Marine Corps, where she wielded her red pen for fifteen years.

As an abuse survivor herself, her most recent passion is leading faith-based support groups for women survivors of childhood abuse.

 


CONTACT DETAILS

Author Contact
Niki Krauss: niki@nikikrauss.com

Connect with Niki at http://www.nikikrauss.com.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorNikiKrauss/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/niki_krauss

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/14530013.Niki_Krauss

Publishing/Marketing Contact
Becki Brannen
Book Marketing Manager
Booktrope Publishing
becki.brannen@booktrope.com

Niki is available for personal appearances and interviews; contact Becki Brannen (info above) to schedule.

 


 

AUTHOR INTERVIEW

Born and raised?

I’m a Jersey girl—born and raised in New Jersey till age seventeen. For most of the years since, I’ve been a Southern girl.

Tell us something about yourself that isn’t in your bio.

I’ve been hit by a car two different times while crossing the street. The first time I was five, and the second, I was fourteen. Third times the charm, so I’m very careful now!

Realistically, how long did your story take you to brainstorm, write, rewrite, edit and sell to a publisher?

Seven years!

Why a writer? There are so many exciting careers in the world, how did you know that writing was the one for you?

I was an editor for a lot of years, and I always cringed whenever I was given a writing assignment. Fortunately, it didn’t happen often. I loved editing; it’s so “behind the scenes.” Writing puts you “out there,” and I think that’s why I didn’t like it. But I needed to tell my story, and so, I began writing. Over time—a long time and much to my surprise—I fell in love with writing.

12316382_1654715724766613_7770843544619339603_n

If there was an event in your life that triggered this book, or even a scene in the book, what was that?
Being a memoir, yes, of course. But the actual trigger to my story becoming a book was a small snippet of conversation. I heard someone say how cathartic it was for her to write her own story. Those words ignited a small spark in me to want that, too. Little Girl Mended grew out of that spark.

 

If you could give an aspiring author one piece of advice, what would it be?
Don’t let your fears or self-doubt keep you from trying.

Are you a bookworm? Who are some of your favorite authors?
Yes, I read a lot, mostly fiction. I like being taken away by someone else’s imagination. Pat Conroy, Wally Lamb, and Janet Evanovich are a few of my favorites.

What do you like to do to relax, when you’re not busy writing?

Reading would top the list, though I like to just chill in front of the TV sometimes, too! I enjoy working out and usually walk and/or go to the gym most days.

Everyone has their quirks, what are yours?

I’m a neat freak to the extreme. Just ask my husband! There’s rarely anything out of place in my house. Putting things away is second nature to me; I don’t even know I’m doing it!

What’s your favorite book turned movie and why?

To Kill a Mockingbird. I remember reading the book as a girl and discovering the magic of reading. Then the movie…well, Gregory Peck was the perfect Atticus!


WORDS OF PRAISE FROM VOX DEI –

unnamed

Today is cover reveal day for Little Girl Mended, a book very close to our hearts here at Vox Dei. We can’t say enough how amazing this book is or how deeply it will move you.

“Little Girl Mended” is the embodiment of what we strive for in our non-fiction titles at Vox Dei.

Author Niki Krauss is incredibly transparent in her retelling of her story, not shying away from the dark areas of humanity where many fear to tread.

But here’s the thing, she’s not dwelling in darkness – she’s shining a light in it. She’s pulling others out of that darkness.

I found myself completely drawn in to her world. I cried at times. I cringed at others. I found myself dealing with my own old hurts.

And through it all, I was wrapped in this overwhelming blanket of peace. I found in her words the reassurance that Jesus truly does make all things new.

Whether you can relate to her particular story or not, her journey of healing will touch and bless you.

And considering the statistics of abuse in our world, odds are pretty good you or someone you know shares her pain.

~Heather

 

ABOUT VOX DEI

Vox-Dei-white1.jpg

 

Our name rhymes with Fox Day. We’re an imprint of Booktrope, a new type of publishing company founded in 2011 in Seattle, WA that’s pioneering a model called team publishing.

Our mission at VoxDei is to provide books for a primarily Christian audience that edify and entertain, encourage, and inspire.

While Christian themes are woven throughout our fiction, our purpose is not to preach a sermon but rather provide a quality alternative to the secular market for entertainment.

Our non-fiction titles are intended to help readers explore the Bible in a more personal way and grow in their walk with Christ, while being informal in voice and approach.

Whether fiction or non, our goal is to shine the light and love that is central to the Christian faith into a dark and messy world.

Learn more at voxdeipublishing.com.

ORDERING INFORMATION

eBook price: $2.99
Publisher: Vox Dei Publishing
ISBN: 978-1-5137-0643-6
Epub ISBN: 978-1-5137-0744-0

 

Little Girl Mended is available internationally – please contact us directly if you do not see it on your preferred book purchase website.

Discounts or customized editions may be available for educational and other groups based on bulk purchase.

For further information please contact vox.dei@booktrope.com.

Leave a Reply

