STAR OF PERSIA – Jill Eileen Smith

“Star of Persia, Esther’s Story” by Jill Eileen Smith is the exotic, out-of-this-world, true-to-life tale of how the simple, lovely orphan girl, Esther became the beautiful, honored and revered battle queen of Persia. Caught in the throes of the bitter intrigue and murky strife of palace politics, Esther finds herself in an impossible, catch 22 situation, one in which she can either risk her life or consign herself and her people to the fiery flames of annihilation.

With her impeccable flair for research and her imaginative, conversational, story-telling style, Jill Eileen Smith brings to life the romantic, suspenseful, and beloved story of Esther, drama queen of Persia.

Here in this book, you will meet real people with flaws and foibles, whose palpable emotions tug at your heartstrings, in this passionate story of the Bible’s greatest Jewish heroine.

Jill Eileen Smith weaves together richly crafted descriptions, well-researched historical detail, and merges them together in biblical stories with a fresh, new perspective.

I highly recommend this book to all who wish to make Queen Esther’s story come alive to readers of today. I was captivated and spellbound as I read it, line by line, page by page. I couldn’t put the book down until I reached the end. Great reading!

Miriam Jacob



The Land Beneath Us, by Sarah Sundin, the third book in the Sunrise at Normandy series, is an unusual love story. Just before D-Day, Pvt. Clay Paxton, training with the Army Rangers, has a recurring dream of his death on the battlefield. Clay meets and likes the extremely polite, courteous and gracious Leah Jones. She works at an orphanage library, being an orphan herself. She was ruthlessly abandoned by her adoptive family. When Clay saves Leah’s life, the bond between them deepens significantly, although it is not love at first sight. They get married in a marriage of convenience, with the option to divorce, before Clay goes to Europe on battle deputation. Their relationship strengthens through their letters. Clay and Leah are the perfect embodiment of selfless courage, determination and fortitude, as they find hope in forgiveness and life in healing. When Clay returns from the battlefield, they decide to save their marriage, as they love each other. Sarah Sundin develops the blossoming relationship between the two main characters, Clay and Leah, in a profound and perceptive way. I highly recommend this book to all who wish to get a deeper understanding of what it means to triumph against all odds.

TWO STEPS FORWARD – Susanne Woods Fisher

“Two Steps Forward” by Susanne Woods Fisher is a story filled with unique relationships, ranging from a wide gamut of family secrets and past mistakes to searching for forgiveness. The main characters are strong-minded and realistic, laced with determination and fortitude. Susan Woods Fisher is a unique voice for the Amish community. Her sensitive, true-to-life stories are well balanced, with a lot of heart, humor and faith.
“Two Steps Forward” by Suzanne Woods Fisher is the third and final book in the ‘Deacon Family’ series. Jimmy Fisher is back, broke and bereft in Stoney Ridge, having coasted through the vicissitudes of life, as long and as well as he could, purely on the strength of his charming good looks and deep-set dimples, which had always stood him in good stead, until one day, much to his chagrin, they didn’t!
Jimmy’s dazzling smile had absolutely no effect on Sylvie Schrock King, the violet-eyed, vivacious beauty, who offered him a job at her farm, to keep herself and her son Joey afloat. Hiring Jimmy, the son of her neighbour and nemesis, Edith Fisher Lapp, would only serve to fan the fiery flames of Edith’s rancorous rage. However, Sylvie, desperate for help, has no other option. Jimmy has a heart for horses, unlike any other. While Jimmy’s dazzling smile and endearing ways win Sylvie’s heart, Edith schemes to claim her land. Has Sylvie made a terrible mistake in hiring Jimmy? Is it too late to outrun, outwit and outfox the fox? And who exactly is the wily fox?
Writing with warm wit and charm, Suzanne Woods Fisher delivers a supremely satisfying tale to wrap up ‘Deacon’s family series, with this extraordinary twist to the typical Amish tale. Humanitarian issues of abandonment and compassionate virtues of commitment, forgiveness, and helping the helpless weave their way through this heartwarming tale. I highly recommend “Two Steps Forward” to all who wish to identify with the warmth and love of Amish family life in their own unique communities.
NATASHA QUEEN, Uncategorized

The Brides of Pecan Grove – Natasha Queen

  • Publication date: June 28, 2019
  • “The Brides of Pecan Grove” by Natasha Queen is a second chance sweet romance. It held my rapt attention from start to finish. As I read it, I was spellbound and captivated. The two main characters, Adam and Ava are so realistically portrayed and skillfully delineated that they actually spring to life with amazing wit and humor. You will be so utterly refreshed as you follow the lives of these two sensitive people, surrounded by trustworthy friends who truly love them. With painful, bittersweet memories, Ava’s unrequited love finally finds fruition in the beautiful pages of this awesome book. I highly recommend this lovely book by a truly gifted author, Natasha Queen.
  • Miriam Jacob

40 VERSES TO IGNITE YOUR FAITH – Laurie Polich Short

Bethany House Publishers, Date of Publication: April 2, 2019. ISBN: 9780764232565, Price: $13.99

40 Verses to Ignite your Faith” by Laurie Polich Short is an inspiring book of 40 exclusive Bible verses for all who seek God’s wisdom and hope. We encounter the God who breathes life into dead bones, the God who weeps and the invisible God who is visible through our eyes of faith, as we sit in the silence of God, waiting to hear from Him.

These 40 specially selected Bible verses are “the lesser known Scriptures to help us discover new angles to breathe life into our faith.” God’s amazing grace always gives us “second chances, fresh starts and new beginnings.”

Trusting God in despair requires a resilient faith that will never give up, whatever the cost. God pulls out all the stops for us to taste His love. “You are the God who sees me… I have now seen the One who sees me” – (Genesis 16:13).

These inspiring words boost and bolster our faith like nothing else. We have a God who sees us in our pain, when we are utterly alone. God is with us in our sufferings. We are never alone.  I highly recommend this book to all who desire to taste God’s love in all its fullness.

Miriam Jacob